Concealed carry is the act of carrying a concealed weapon (handgun) in public places
but with the hidden presence of a weapon. For the past six years, the state of Texas has been trying to promote gun safety and stop the mass shootings and murders that have been happening in the country.
18–20-year-olds can now get a Concealed Carry in Texas. The new age requirement for the Texas License to Carry – Texas Concealed Carry is now only 18 years old per Federal Court Ruling.
Firearms Policy Coalition, Inc. et. al., v. Steven McCraw, et. al., No. 4:21-cv-1245-P
Moreover, the state has also increased the amount of training that people have to do in order to obtain a concealed carry license. In 2016, the state passed a law that allowed both open carries and concealed carry licenses but in 2017 it was changed from both to only concealed carry licenses in order to carry a handgun in public.
Although, prior to 2016, only people with a valid concealed carry license were allowed to carry a handgun in public. So in Texas, you need to be aware of many other things regarding concealed carry.
So stay tuned with us and without further ado let’s get started!
In Texas, the minimum age requirement for concealed carry is one of the main criteria that determine eligibility. To be eligible for a concealed carry license in Texas, you must be at least 21 years old and meet all other requirements.
These include passing a background check, completing a training course, having a valid identification card, and being able to purchase a firearm. If you are under 18 years old, you cannot buy a handgun in the state of Texas.
Online/ Physical Training
As the requirements for obtaining the license to carry have changed over the years. The training of LTC can be done in two ways, depending on the preferences of the individual. Online classes are the newest method for the training of LTC. You can enroll in these online courses without leaving your house. The second method is the physical training classes which require you to attend the class on a regular basis.
A 4-hour online class is divided into twenty-minute segments. Each individual decides whether to take the course in intervals or all at once. Upon completion of the course, you will be required to answer 25 questions. A certificate of completion for LTC-101 will be awarded automatically if you pass the quiz.
While in the case of physical classes, an individual must attend live classes and complete five or six hours of physical training provided by a professional instructor. Comparatively, physical classes are also a little bit more expensive than online classes. And the majority of people prefer to use the online method over an in-person meeting.
Before getting a permit to carry a concealed weapon, you have to pass a shooting test. This test is very simple. All you have to do is to shoot 50 rounds from a 3-15 yards line. You have to do this at a designated location. During this test, they just want to ensure that you are capable of shooting and handling handguns safely.
Above all, this is what you need to know before concealing your firearm in Texas. All of these requirements and conditions must be met before you can get a license to carry.
To sum up, it is important to note that in Texas not every applicant for a concealed carry license will qualify to receive one. Above all, this is what you need to know before concealing your firearm in Texas. All of these requirements and conditions must be met before you can get a license to carry.
We hope this article will be very helpful for you. So, I hope this help you all. Please let me know in the comments.
When you’re ready to get your Texas License to Carry (LTC) or your Oklahoma SDA, make sure you choose a premier training provider. Conceal Carry Academy is committed to offering the best firearms training possible through the NRA or other State programs. When they need information on firearms safety or they want to take a Texas LTC class or Oklahoma SDA, gun owners trust the expertise of the pros from Conceal Carry Academy. If you have questions about any aspect of gun ownership, contact us today!
Can I carry a loaded gun on me in Texas?
Yes, you can, Texas recognizes Constitutional / Permitless Carry.
Do I need a license to conceal carry in Texas?
No, The State of Texas is a Constitutional / Permitless State. Though the Texas License to Carry removes many of the restrictions that Constitutional Carry Has.