For those who are new to the firearms world, it is important to know the difference between a Texas Concealed Handgun License. This will help you to make sure that you are doing everything correctly when you are getting your license. In order to get a license for carrying a handgun in Texas, you must be 21 years old.
There are different types of licenses that you can apply for. One of them is the CHL (Concealed Handgun License). This is a license that you can apply for if you are going to carry a handgun. To get this license, you must pass a background check and pass a shooting test. If you pass the shooting test, you will get the CHL certificate and license.
The other type is LTC (License To Carry), you may want to go to your place of work to carry your handgun. In this case, you can apply for the LTC license. If you do, you must show proof of your handgun training and proof of your handgun safety training.
Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL)
Texas Concealed Handgun License is a special permit that is given to applicants who are 21 years old or older. If you have a CHL, you can carry a concealed handgun anywhere you are legally allowed to carry a firearm. You must be a citizen of the United States for this purpose Texas Concealed Handgun License.
Before 2016 the term which was used for handgun license was CHL or concealed handgun license. In the past, you were not allowed to openly carry a handgun in public unless you were carrying a concealed handgun. Hence, Texas Concealed Handgun License, or concealed handgun licenses are required whenever someone applies for a gun license.
People who wish to carry a handgun usually do it because they want to protect themselves. For this reason, you need to pass a test that checks your knowledge of gun safety. It’s up to you whether you want to join online training or physical training for tests. And after the clearance of the test, you’re eligible for a permit of CHL.
License to Carry (LTC)
LTC stands for a license to carry. When you have a license to carry, you can carry a handgun on your person anywhere in the state of Texas. In 2016 Texas passed a law where that allowed and legalized both the concealed carry of a gun and open carry.
As the law changed in 2017, the term CHL or concealed handgun license was replaced by the term LTC, or license to carry. In Texas, a license to carry is given to people who are qualified to carry a concealed weapon, which is a handgun. And you must be 21 years old for eligibility for an LTC license.
If you have been a resident of Texas for a while, you probably know that it is legal for you to carry a handgun in public. If you don’t have a handgun license, you may not be able to carry a gun in public but you must first obtain a permit for the concealed carry of a gun.
Quite simply, there’s no difference between a CHL and an LTC, and they both refer to the same thing. People often use both terms interchangeably because there are some who are still confused as to the differences between these two words. Actually today, the license to carry is officially called the LTC by theTexas Concealed Handgun License. It is legal and allowed to Texas Concealed Handgun Licenseopenly or concealed under this Texas handgun license.
All in all, If you want to get a license to carry a handgun, you must first pass the test that the state requires. We hope this guide will be very helpful for you to understand the difference between Texas Concealed Handgun License.
Can you get your concealed handgun license online in Texas?
Yes, You can apply online with the Texas Department of Public Safety DPS (Most Efficient)
Yes, You can take the Texas License to Carry Class Online
Can I open carry in Texas without a CHL?
Yes, Texas is a Constitutional Carry / Permitless Carry State
Originally posted on August 5, 2022 @ 03:43