The Texas Constitutional Carry or permit less carry bill was passed on 16th June 2021. According to this law, a person who is 21 years old or older and owns a handgun may carry that handgun without a Texas license. This means that the state has no authority to restrict the possession or ownership of firearms.
The citizens of Texas are guaranteed the right to own a gun, and they can do so without a permit or license. They can carry concealed or open carry handguns in a belt or shoulder holster. However, if anyone wants to get a texas Constitutional Carry handgun license (CHL) to obtain extra benefits, they can get it, too.
What Does This New Law Offer?
In the past, if you wanted to carry a gun in public, you had to get a license, pass a shooting test, and take a four-hour training course. However, now Texas does not require handgun licenses or permits.
But, if you’ve been convicted of any crime, including domestic violence, you can’t apply for the job. The law also prohibits open carry if you are convicted of assault causing bodily injury, deadly conduct, terroristic threats, or disorderly conduct with a firearm.
Who can do Texas Constitutional Carry?
In order to be eligible for constitutional carry, an individual must meet certain criteria. To carry constitutionally, you must be 21 years old and have not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime within the last five years. Additionally, you must purchase a gun legally in order to qualify.
Who Is Prohibited from Firearms Ownership and Carry?
You are prohibited from owning and carrying a firearm if you meet any of the following criteria.
- An individual under 21 years old or addicted to any substance
- A person who is mentally ill or an illegal immigrant
- A person who is subject to an explicit court order
- Criminals and fugitives
- An individual who has been convicted by the court of domestic violence.
Some Non-Carrying Areas for Everyone
There are some areas in Texas that are off-limits to license carry holders and permit fewer carriers.
- Court & all hospitals
- Polling stations
- Prisons and detention centers
- Publically open sporting event
Texas Constitution Carry is the act of carrying a concealed handgun in public without a license. Under the current law, concealed carry is only legal in licensed establishments. Businesses that don’t want guns in the establishment can display two signs.
One in English and another in Spanish, to warn people that unlicensed gun owners are not allowed to carry inside. Now, there is a third sign to be displayed. No doubt about it, some people think this law should be changed because it can cause a lot of problems.
Conclusion – The Final Verdict
As you can see, with everything shifting online, the State of Texas has made it very easy for new gun owners to obtain a license to carry. You can apply from the comfort of your home to get yourTexas Constitutional Carry. Yet, Texas State still has rules and regulations regarding gun ownership. According to them, it is the moral and ethical responsibility of every gun owner in Texas to follow these rules and regulations.
In addition, the Department of Public Safety also adheres to these rules and regulations. Texas is currently one of the best states when it comes to providing many benefits and making it easier for gun permit holders to obtain their permits.
Thus, in order to obtain a license to carry in Texas, you must meet the eligibility criteria set by the Department of Public Safety. Non-Texans can also obtain gun permits from Texas Constitutional Carry. The following is a complete overview of Texan laws, rules, and regulations that pertain to licenses to carry.
Can you conceal carry with Permitless carry Texas?
Yes, you can conceal and open carry.
Will Texas still have LTC after constitutional carry?
Time has passed and Texas still have License to Carry LTC-CHL and Constitutional Carry / Permitless Carry
Originally posted on August 5, 2022 @ 04:00