Texas License to Carry Refresher is a course that teaches you about new laws and legislative updates regarding the carrying of firearms in Texas. It provides in-depth information about firearm storage options, safety measures, and situation handling and awareness. If you are renewing your carry license, you may take this course.
18–20-year-olds can now get a Concealed Carry in Texas. The new age requirement for the Texas License to Carry – Texas Concealed Carry is now only 18 years old per Federal Court Ruling.
Firearms Policy Coalition, Inc. et. al., v. Steven McCraw, et. al., No. 4:21-cv-1245-P
Texas License to Carry Refresher:
The refresher course is only for gun permit holders. It is also a requirement for the renewal of your gun permit. In this course, individuals learn about the most current laws, rules, and regulations concerning Texas licenses to carry. If you hold a gun permit, you should attend the refresher course. The course does not last four hours. Rather, it takes around 2.5 hours to complete.
After the expiry date of the license to carry, a person has the option of renewing the license to carry. The Texas gun permit validity period is four years. The Department of Public Safety notifies license holders 120 days in advance of their license expiration date. They send a mail to the address of the license holder. At present, there are three ways to renew a license.
In the first instance, you can apply for a completely new license to carry.
Second, you can download and follow the instructions on the first and second pages of the gun permit application.
Lastly, you can acquire an application from the Department of Public Safety headquarters and complete it before submitting it.
As soon as you have completed the application, you will submit it along with a new completion certificate of training and a copy of your government-issued driver’s license or identification card. After you complete the form, you will need to pay the renewal fee and apply for a new license. This process is simple, easy, fast, and free.
As a final step, the completed renewal application and supporting documents should be sent to the Department of Public Safety almost 90 days in advance of the expiration date. If you submit your renewal application early, the Department will have ample time to process it. In the event that you want to submit an application after the expiration date, make sure to do so within 60 days of the expiration date.
It is mandatory to submit the application within 60 days of expiry otherwise you will have to complete a completely new application process, which will involve submitting new documents as well as fingerprints. So, this is the entire procedure for renewing the Texas license to carry.
Complete the Form With Accurate Information
It is always a good idea to submit your application within the deadline provided. In some cases, the department may ask you to retake the course to refresh all your knowledge. During the renewal process, it is important to provide the most accurate information because if the information is incorrect, the application can be denied. So, in order to avoid your application being canceled or delayed, always provide accurate and complete information.
License Renewal Fee & Time Period
License renewal applicants use a renewal application form. The renewal process is completed within 45 days after receiving the required materials. The cost of renewing a license is the same as the cost of a new license. As soon as the Department of Public Safety receives the required materials, it will process the renewals within 45 days.
When you’re ready to get your Texas License to Carry (LTC), make sure you choose a premier training provider. Conceal Carry Academy is committed to offering the best firearms training possible. When they need information on firearms safety or they want to take a Texas LTC class, gun owners trust the expertise of the pros from Conceal Carry Academy. If you have questions about any aspect of gun ownership in Texas, contact us today!
Whether you are a resident or not, if you need to renew the license to carry, make sure you fill out the application form accurately and pay the fee on time. Also, you must make sure that all questions written in the application form are read carefully and answered correctly.
Can I renew my Texas LTC online?
Yes you can renew you Texas License to Carry by visiting the Texas DPS website Here
Do I need to renew my license to carry in Texas?
Yes, you will need to Renew once time is near to expiration. The license does not automatically renew.