As a gun owner, you should know the Texas license to carry LTC rules and regulations. There are different types of licenses to carry in Texas. And Texas states changed its rules over the year. In this article, we will discuss the Texas license to carry laws, rules, and regulations.
The new age requirement for the Texas License to Carry – Texas Concealed Carry is now only 18 years old per Federal Court Ruling.
Firearms Policy Coalition, Inc. et. al., v. Steven McCraw, et. al., No. 4:21-cv-1245-P
So, let’s get started!
Texas LTC Requirements/Eligibility Criteria
When it comes to LTC, there are a lot of questions that people have about whether they qualify. The first question people usually ask is whether they meet the eligibility requirements. So, let’s look at the eligibility requirements.
The requirements for obtaining an LTC include:
An individual should be at least 21 years of age to be eligible to apply for a License to Carry in Texas.The individual must have a valid government-issued identification or driver’s license.
A Department of Public Safety (DPS) verified online training or in-person training test will determine your eligibility. You need an LTC-101 completion certificate to prove that you have passed the shooting test. Completed LTC-78A Application form filled
LTC Issuing Department
To get the permit in Texas, you must complete the application process and meet the requirements. The license to carry is issued by the Department of Public Safety.
Under the current laws, the validity period or length of the license to carry is about 4 years. After four years you have to renew your license.
Cost of Permit
The standard cost of the permit is 40 dollars. In some situations, it could be more or less. For military service members, the cost of the license to carry is $25. And For Texas State Guards, Active Guards, and Reserves the permit fee is $0.
Although, renewal fees are also included in the license to carry fees. People applying for a license renewal use a renewal application form. The renewal process takes around 45 days to complete. The cost of license renewal is the same as a new license.
In case, if your license to carry application is rejected by the Department of Public Safety, then you can appeal for reconsideration within the 30-day period. Upon receiving a request for a hearing from a license holder or applicants, the department will immediately arrange a hearing in the appropriate justice court or in the applicants’ county of residence.
How Non-Residents can get LTC in Texas?
If you are a resident of a state other than Texas, you can also apply for a license to carry a firearm. A resident of another state is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun in Texas. This means that you can carry a gun with you anywhere in the state. But still, The non-resident applicant must be a United States citizen.
LTC Laws, Rules, and Regulations
Carrying while Alcohol Consumption
Carrying a handgun with a license to carry while you are intoxicated or doing alcohol consumption is an offense. The law states that you cannot carry a firearm while you are intoxicated or doing alcohol consumption. It is a crime if you carry a handgun with LTC in this condition.
Non-Carrying Areas for LTC Holders
LTC holders are prohibited from carrying guns in certain places. The law prohibits them from carrying guns in courtrooms, police stations, jails, hospitals, and racetracks. They must remove their guns from these places.
Finally, there are certain rules and regulations that you should abide by if you want to get a license to carry. And it is the moral and ethical responsibility of every gun owner in Texas to follow these rules and regulations. As far as the law is concerned, it is illegal for anyone to carry a handgun without a license. So, Make sure to have a valid permit before purchasing a firearm.
When you’re ready to get your Texas License to Carry (LTC), make sure you choose a premier training provider. Conceal Carry Academy is committed to offering the best firearms training possible. When they need information on firearms safety or they want to take a Texas LTC class, gun owners trust the expertise of the pros from Conceal Carry Academy. If you have questions about any aspect of gun ownership in Texas, contact us today!