A license to carry in Texas is a permit that allows you to carry a firearm in public. In the Texas LTC Application process, you can have a license to carry in Texas for various reasons. You should know that getting a license to carry a gun in Texas is easy. You just need to do a few things to get your license in Taxes.
Steps Texas LTC Application:
Before you apply for a Texas License to Carry, you should first make sure that you meet the requirements furthermore, you should know that you will need to meet certain criteria. You can get a license to carry a gun in Texas by following these steps.
1. Check Eligibility/Requirements
Before you apply for a license to carry, make sure that you meet the requirements. Texas requires that applicants must be at least 21 years old. You should also provide a valid state-issued driver’s license or state identification card. The license or ID card that you will provide needs to have been issued within the last five years.
You also need to pass the background check this will ensure that you’re not involved in any previous criminal history. If you have met all the requirements and are eligible for a permit to carry in Texas, you should consider taking the training to the next step.
2. Get Training
If you have never carried a gun, you can get training on how to properly handle a gun. Actually, there are two modes of training that you can choose from. The first one is online training and the second mode of training is in-person training. Both of these training are given to you for 4-6 hours.
Online training can be done from the comfort of your home. It doesn’t require a lot of time and effort. It’s a good way to get your training done. So, yes, the online training session consists of different videos of about 20 minutes duration. After you’ve completed the training course whether it’s online or physical you’ve to pass a quiz consisting of 25 questions.
Additionally, a shooting test must be passed after the quiz. If you’re considering becoming a licensed firearm dealer in Texas, then training is mandatory to get your Texas gun license. You must shoot 50 rounds during the live shooting test to get an accurate reading of your potential accuracy.
3. Apply on DPS Website
First, you need to fill out the application on the Department of Public Safety website. When you submit the application, you will have to provide a criminal history disclosure form, fingerprint card, background check consent form, and a fee of $40. If you are a resident of Texas, you will have to submit a photo ID and proof of residency.
4. Submit Documents
In addition to completing the application form and submitting it on the DPS website, you must provide the required documentation. Upon completion of the course, you also have to submit the LTC-101 certificate and all other supporting documents online at the Department of Public Safety.
5. Wait for the approval
After the license to carry application is submitted, you will need to wait for the department of public safety to approve your application for 8 weeks. Your LTC in Texas will be mailed to you just after your application approval.
Conclusion – Final Words
To sum up, the laws regarding the possession and carrying of a handgun vary from state to state. Some states require only a permit to carry a handgun while others require a license. If you want to apply for a license to carry a handgun in Texas, you need to submit the online application form. Furthermore, you can get training online or physically it’s up to you.
After you have submitted the application, you will need to pay a fee of $40. After paying, you will have to wait for your application to be approved. After your application is approved, your Texas LTC will be mailed to you.
Originally posted on August 4, 2022 @ 23:48