Texas Concealed carry is the practice of being in possession of a weapon, (Usually a handgun), and carrying it in a concealed fashion.
This can be done both on public and private property.
Having concealed carry is a substantial form of self-defense and is allowed in nearly every state in the United States, regardless of if you have a permit or not.
Texas is a great place to practice concealed carry as it has one of the country’s least restrictive gun laws.
Now, I know you are excited but hold your horses…
There are a few things you need to take into consideration before having a concealed carry weapon.
Who is eligible for Texas Concealed Carry License?
Like a few other states, Texas is a “shall-issue” state. This means that if an applicant passes certain qualifications, then the DPS shall issue the license to conceal and carry a weapon.
To be eligible for concealed carry, one must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Fully qualify under both state and federal law to possess a handgun (Reference DPS website for more detail)
- Never have committed a felony
- Not been convicted of a Class A or B misdemeanor in the last 5 years since the application
- Not be a fugitive of law for either a felony, Class A or B misdemeanor.
- Be a legal resident of Texas for 6 months before the application or meet special eligibility (Reference DPS website for detail)
- Not be chemically dependent, such as on a substance physically.
***Note: Not everyone requires a permit, permit-less carry is allowed as of September 1, 2021, ***
Have been deemed with the ability to exercise sound judgment regarding the proper handling of a firearm.
- (Refer to the DPS website for specific details)
- Not be convicted 2 or more times for a Felony, Class A or B misdemeanor 10 years before application.
- Not be under any type of court restriction or restraining order except if it pertains to the applicant’s own property interest.
- Not be “finally determined” to be late in child support payments when either collected or administered by the attorney general.
- Not be “finally determined” to be late in payment of tax or other money concerning the state.
- Not have been engaged in delinquent activity in the last 10 years equating to a misdemeanor.
In the end, an additional background check is conducted by the local Department of Public Safety as per Texas law in order to make sure all information on the application matches the applicants’ official records.
Where you can carry
Firearms are not something that is restricted to your safe or the shooting range. You can conceal carry in a few places in Texas as well.
- A person’s personal property
- A person’s personal vehicle
- Any public space where a no firearm sign is not present
- Restaurants that do not have a firearm prohibited sign and if the restaurant has a bar, then alcohol should not make more than 51% of the total profit of the business. (See DPS website for more details)
- State and National Forest as well as the Wildlife management areas (Be sure to stay away from buildings and facilities as they may prohibit concealed carry)
State and National Forest as well as the Wildlife management areas (Be sure to stay away from buildings and facilities as they may prohibit concealed carry)
Some public areas may allow conceal carry, but certain buildings and properties in the area may not allow concealed carry weapons.
For this reason, it is important to know where you are going and keep a bit of distance from these areas in order to not have issues with law enforcement.
Where you can’t carry
Though there are quite a few places you can conceal carry, these are most of the areas in Texas in which concealed carry is not allowed.
- Schools that restrict firearm possession on the property (If the firearm is secured and, in a case, away from view in a vehicle, it may be allowed)
- Religious institutions and/or places of worship
- In a stadium or during a professional sporting event.
- State and national parks (***Not Forest***)
- Any area used for education and schooling or vehicles that transport school students (Any age group)
- During a meeting involving governmental groups.
- In a business where alcohol is one of the main streams of income (more than 50%) Usually they have firearm prohibited signs (e.g., Bars )
- An area or institution offering healthcare (e.g., Hospital)
- An institution that holds criminals (e.g., Prison, detention center)
- Any area in which you are under the influence of an intoxicant that disrupts your mental, cognitive, and judgment ability. (e.g., Alcohol)
- When involved with a gang or in illegal activity
- In an area where a death sentence of a criminal is taking place
- Anyplace of voting during the election period
- Portions of the airport that are secured off
- Areas that are used for court activities
- In any place of business unless either firearm is secured and tucked away in your vehicle or if you have been granted permission by the current owner/employer of the business.
- Any property that includes a sign restricting possession of any firearm
- Any place which the federal law has banned (See DPS website for more details)
Though conceal carry is deemed impermissible in these areas, special concessions can be made in certain scenarios, especially if it is regarding security.
Permission must always be sought by the owner or from the administration of that certain location and/or institution. (Always reference the DPS website for more details)
Do I need an LTC to conceal carry?
As of September of 2021, Texans over 21 years are no longer required to possess a license to conceal carry.
Saying this, it is still encouraged to get your LTC.
There are many benefits because when you have an LTC, you are on all the records. This means any firearm transaction or purchase would be very smooth as all your background information is present.
That is just one major benefit of having an LTC.
If you are interested in getting your LTC, look no further. Click Here to start your journey.
What is the minimum age in Texas to get a concealed carry license?
21, Unless you are Active-Duty Military, then it is 18
Who issues Texas Concealed Handgun Licenses?
The Texas Department of Public Safety DPS
Originally posted on August 4, 2022 @ 06:28