The State of Texas requires a Texas License to Carry a handgun in public places. Likewise, the State of Texas issues this license to people who meet certain requirements. So, this license gives them the right to carry a handgun in public places. Most people with a Texas LTC can carry a handgun in public places. However, the Department of Public Safety, in Texas, is responsible for issuing licenses to carry.
So if you are planning to get a license to carry a gun in Texas, you should prepare yourself first and you should make sure that you know the laws in Texas regarding gun ownership. Getting a gun license in Texas is not too difficult. You will only need to meet certain requirements to get a license to carry a gun.
Steps For Getting LTC Permit
If you are interested in getting a license to carry a gun, here are some steps you should follow.
1. Take Online/In-Person Classes
In order to get a permit to carry a gun in Texas, you must pass through LTC training. At present, there are two methods of obtaining a license to carry a handgun. The first method is an online training, and the second one is In-person training.
It certainly depends on the individual which training he decides to do. You need to know the carrying laws, gun laws, situation handling, and awareness, in order to effectively defend yourself. Depending on how long you need to finish the course, the time frame will range from 4 to 6 hours.
In Texas, you need to pass a test in order to get a license to carry a gun. You can take online or in-person classes for this test. You should also consider taking online classes. These are good because they are available 24/7 and you can complete these 4-hour videos in your comfort zone.
In fact, in-person classes are more expensive compared to online classes so people mostly prefer online courses. When you complete the course you have to answer a quiz of 25 questions. And after you pass the quiz, you will be awarded a Texas License to Carry
2. Shooting Proficiency Course for Texas License to Carry
Before you can apply for a license to carry a gun in Texas, you have to pass a shooting test. You will need to prove that you can shoot accurately. You will also need to prove that you can handle a gun safely. For this purpose, you’ve to go to a Texas License to Carry
In the shooting test, you’ll have to shoot 50 rounds from various distances. Twenty rounds must be fired from three yards, twenty from seven yards, and the last ten must be fired from fifteen yards. You will receive your completed certificate from your LTC instructor after passing the shooting test.
3. Submit the Application
Finally, you submit the application on the Department of Public Safety website. Once you complete the DPS website application, you will need to submit your fingerprints. There are several requirements for the Texas License to Carry, including disclosure of criminal history, consent to a background check, and payment of a fee to the Department of Public Safety.
Once the application is submitted it goes to the Department of Public Safety for review. When DPS reviews your file it takes around 8 weeks. And when the application gets approved by DPS they issue theTexas License to Carry and send it to you via email.
Conclusion – A Few Final Thoughts
We’ve all done it, you have learned about the Texas LTC and its requirements. This is a document that proves you are qualified to carry a firearm. This document will help you to avoid any legal problems when you go to carry a gun. If you are over 21 years old, you can go online and apply for a Texas LTC. Once you get the permit you can carry a gun legally in Texas.
Thanks For Reading This Article.